Written by Mimi Thebo

Six months ago, Darcy and her family moved to the snowy forests of Yellowstone National Park. As each day passes by, however, Darcy is getting sicker and weaker. When Darcy stumbles across an injured mother bear who has lost her cubs to hunters, Darcy feels drawn to helping her. Can the two help each other heal?

This survival story is well-written, engaging, and endearing. The characters are likable and realistic. Fans of Gary Paulsen, Will Hobbs, and other survival adventure novels will enjoy reading this book.

Review by Jessica Moody, Olympus Jr. High Media Center
Rating: ★★★★½ (4.5 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 4 to 8

Dreaming the Bear
Written by Mimi Thebo
Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books
169 pages
Release Date: April 10, 2017 (USA)
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

8 total comments on this postSubmit yours
  1. Giveaway Alert! 5/5/2017: We have a copy of this book to give away to a school library, teacher, or student in Granite School District. Leave a short comment with your name within the next week for a chance to win it. Thanks for looking!

  2. This looks like a book I’d love to have in my library. Yellowstone park, an injured bear and a girl…sounds like a great adventure.

  3. This is the kind of book that I love. Someday, in my fantasy life, I will make friends with a bear and he will love me back. Hee,hee. Looking forward to reading this!

  4. What an interesting premise. I am going to Yellowstone this year and it would be great to have the book on audio for my boys to hear as we travel.

  5. I’m with you, Jenny. I would love to have a big animal for a friend. This book sounds like one great adventure and would keep kids reading to the end. New adventure stories are always a welcome addition and one that takes place in Yellowstone where many of our students have been, would be great!

    • Renee, you win the drawing! Thanks for looking. The book is on its way to you soon.

  6. Thank you so much for this book. It looks great and I just can’t wait to read it!!

  7. Hello, everyone! Hope you enjoy reading Dreaming the Bear. Do let me know what you think. XX Mimi

Submit your comment

Please enter your name

Your name is required

Please enter a valid email address

An email address is required

Please enter your message

Granite Media © 2017 All Rights Reserved

Theme by WPShower

Powered by WordPress