2012: Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

The Newbery Medal was the first award for children’s literature in the world.  It is awarded each year to the author of “the most distinguished contribution” to American children’s literature published in the previous year.  Although most often awarded for a novel, the award is open to nonfiction, poetry, and any other children’s texts.  Illustrations are not considered when judging a text for Newbery recognition.  The intended primary audience of a Newbery winner is children readers, ages 9-14.  In addition to awarding the medal,  the Newbery committee also gives recognition to several runner-up books, which are designated Newbery Honor books.




  • When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
  • Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose
  • The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
  • Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
  • The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg  by Rodman Philbrick
Submit your comment

Please enter your name

Your name is required

Please enter a valid email address

An email address is required

Please enter your message

Granite Media © 2019 All Rights Reserved

Theme by WPShower

Powered by WordPress