wandervilleWritten by Wendy McClure

This first book in a historical series about perserverance, friendship and hope tells of how the imaginary “city” of Wanderville was established where “all children in need of freedom” were accepted. The “city” was hidden in the woods from all adults and had no buildings except in the children’s imaginations. The book is set in the early 1900s at a time when orphaned and unwanted children were put on “orphan trains” and sent out West, often to end up on cruel work farms. Wanderville was the name given to this “city” as the children knew they would have to keep moving to different locations whenever their whereabouts became compromised. Enjoyable reading that pulls the reader into the lives of the first four members of the “city.” Makes the reader anxiously await the next edition in the series to see where the adventures take them. This series is comparable to Little House on the Prairie and The Boxcar Children. I would recommend this series for young readers, but hope each subsequent book is not a year apart, that the series develops at a faster pace.

Review by Jackie Bodell, Plymouth Elementary Media Center
Rating: ★★★★✩ (4 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 3-6

Book Website: http://www.wendymcclure.net/wanderville/ (includes resources for teachers and students)

Written by Wendy McClure
211 pages
Release Date: January 23, 2014
ISBN: 9781595147004 (hardcover)

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top