Gertie’s Leap to Greatness

Written by Kate Beasley, Illustrated by Jillian Tamaki

Gertie Reece Foy is 100% Not-From-Concentrate awesome. She has a daddy who works on an oil rig, a great-aunt who always finds the lowest prices at the Piggly Wiggly, and two loyal best friends. So when her absent mother decides to move away from their small town, Gertie sets out on her greatest mission yet: becoming the best fifth grader in the universe to show her mother exactly what she’ll be leaving behind. There’s just one problem: Seat-stealing new girl Mary Sue Spivey wants to be the best fifth grader, too. And there is simply not enough room at the top for the two of them. — From the Publisher

Gertie wants to be the best she can be. That is something all of us can relate to. She is creative and independent and does what ever she can to make it happen. Gertie has a huge heart and wants to do what is right. She sets huge goals and creates missions to try to accomplish her goals. As she completes her missions she learns some lessons along the way. Fans of Junie B. Jones, Clementine, Ramona Quimby and Judy Moody will like this book.

Review by Vanessa Eyre, Robert Frost Elementary Media Center
Rating: ★★★★✩ (4 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 3-5

Gertie’s Leap to Greatness
Written by Kate Beasley, Illustrated by Jillian Tamaki
Farrar, Straus, Giroux
249 pages
Release Date: October 4, 2016
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Gertie’s Leap to Greatness”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: