By the Book: Jalene Magee, Redwood Elementary

Jalene has been a media clerk at Redwood Elementary for two years. Before that, she worked as a media clerk substitute for the district.

What books are currently on your nightstand?


Summerlost by Allie Condie, The Zoo by James Patterson and Penumbras by Braden Bell

What was the last great book you read?

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

The last book that made you cry?

When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad

The last book that made you laugh?

When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad

What kind of reader were you as a child? What childhood books and authors stick with you the most?

I loved to read books by Dr. Seuss and A Fly Went by by Fritz Siebel.

What is the best book you were required to read as a student?

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain in 6th grade.

What book did you hate reading as a student?

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

What is your favorite book to recommend to children?

Only one? The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling , Fablehaven by Brandon Mull, the Spirit Animals series, Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo by Obert Skye, Hatchet by Gary Paulsen, and books by Mary Downing Hahn.

If you could only bring three books to a desert island, which would you pack?


Fablehaven: Keys to the Demon Prison by Brandon Mull, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling, and When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad

Tags:
, ,

4 thoughts on “By the Book: Jalene Magee, Redwood Elementary”

  1. Laura Schmidt

    It was fun getting to know you. I had to laugh that the book you hated reading as a student was one that I enjoyed the most! I’m not sure why I enjoyed The Grapes of Wrath so much. All my friends said it was torture to get through it, but for some reason I really enjoyed it. It is one that has stuck with me.

  2. Tracie Soffe

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is one of my all time favorite books! I am going to put When Mischief Came to Town on my list of books to read since you seemed to really enjoy it!

  3. Teresa Edmunds

    I had never heard of “A Fly Went By” until today! Looks like a cute book and I love the cover for “When Mischief Came To Town”.

  4. Christine Fotheringham

    I’m putting “When Mischief Came to Town” on my list – I love a book that can make you laugh and also make you cry.
    I found this on Goodreads: In the tradition of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES and PIPPI LONGSTOCKING comes a heart-warming novel about love, family, grief, joy and the power of laughter and imagination.
    It looks like a winner!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top