Dreaming the Bear

Written by Mimi Thebo

Six months ago, Darcy and her family moved to the snowy forests of Yellowstone National Park. As each day passes by, however, Darcy is getting sicker and weaker. When Darcy stumbles across an injured mother bear who has lost her cubs to hunters, Darcy feels drawn to helping her. Can the two help each other heal?

This survival story is well-written, engaging, and endearing. The characters are likable and realistic. Fans of Gary Paulsen, Will Hobbs, and other survival adventure novels will enjoy reading this book.

Review by Jessica Moody, Olympus Jr. High Media Center
Rating: ★★★★½ (4.5 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 4 to 8

Dreaming the Bear
Written by Mimi Thebo
Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books
169 pages
Release Date: April 10, 2017 (USA)
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Dreaming the Bear”

  1. Giveaway Alert! 5/5/2017: We have a copy of this book to give away to a school library, teacher, or student in Granite School District. Leave a short comment with your name within the next week for a chance to win it. Thanks for looking!

  2. Becky Wakefield

    This looks like a book I’d love to have in my library. Yellowstone park, an injured bear and a girl…sounds like a great adventure.

  3. Jenny Wadsworth

    This is the kind of book that I love. Someday, in my fantasy life, I will make friends with a bear and he will love me back. Hee,hee. Looking forward to reading this!

  4. Teresa Edmunds

    What an interesting premise. I am going to Yellowstone this year and it would be great to have the book on audio for my boys to hear as we travel.

  5. I’m with you, Jenny. I would love to have a big animal for a friend. This book sounds like one great adventure and would keep kids reading to the end. New adventure stories are always a welcome addition and one that takes place in Yellowstone where many of our students have been, would be great!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: