The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City

Written by Jodi Kendall

Josie Shilling is part of a big family in the city. They live in a small house, and she feels alone even in the crowd. She is a great gymnast, but she needs to come up with $200, which is a lot for her cash strapped family. When Thanksgiving rolls around her brother Tom brings home a runt piglet that he saved. Josie and Hamlet instantly bond, and she decides to find him a forever home. Life with a rapidly growing piglet brings some interesting problems and some pig caused catastrophes. Can Josie keep hiding Hamlet from Mrs. Taglioni (the neighbor)? Can she financially care for Hamlet, and come up with the money that she needs for gymnastics?

This is a great read-a-like for Charlott’s Web. It is prefect for readers who love stories about animals and realistic fiction.

Review by Jessica Moody, Olympus Jr. High Media Center
Rating: ★★★½✩ (3.5 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 4-8

The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City
Written by Jodi Kendall
Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
326 pages
Release Date: October 3, 2017
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: