The Secret of Nightingale Wood

Written by Lucy Strange

This book is an intriguing mystery. Henry (Henrietta) has just moved to Hope House near Nightingale Wood with her family. They are hoping for a new start after the tragic death of her brother last year. As soon as they arrive, her father leaves to go abroad for work. Henry, nanny, and baby sister are left to deal with her mother’s mental illness that seems to be getting worse. As the story progresses the doctor decides that Henry’s mother needs to be committed to an asylum and the baby needs to be taken away. It is up to Henry to figure out the mystery of the house and surrounding wood and save her family.

Fans of The Secret Garden and The Little Princess will especially enjoy this book.

Review by Charlotte Frenzel, Resource Teacher, Whittier Elementary
Rating: ★★★★✩ (4 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 4-6

The Secret of Nightingale Wood
Written by Lucy Strange
Chicken House/Scholastic Inc.
288 pages
Release Date: October 31, 2017
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: