Hammy and Gerbee: Mummies at the Museum

By Wong Herbert Yee

Hammy and Gerbee are hamster and gerbil best friends who attend Miss Capybara’s class in the fictional town of Rodentia. They enjoy playing harmless tricks on their classmates, the mouse twins Hanna and Anna, and they love spicing things up on the class field trip to the science museum. Things get a little spooky at the mummy exhibit, but nothing these two rodents can’t handle.

This is a fun graphic novel perfect for emerging readers. The line drawings are simple with plenty of illustrations on every page, along with minimal color that makes the story easy to follow. The goofy humor and word play will keep kids laughing throughout, and there’s a fun fact section at the end with information about Egyptian history, lore, and mummies. I hope this is the beginning of a new series. Fans of Babymouse, Squish and the Flying Beaver Brothers will appreciate this graphic novel.

Review by Andrea LeBaron, Upland Terrace Media Center
Rating: ★★★★★ (5 stars)
Interest Level: Grades K-3

Hammy and Gerbee – Mummies at the Museum
By Wong Herbert Yee
Henry Holt and Company
107 pages
Release Date: January 16, 2018
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

Submit your comment

Please enter your name

Your name is required

Please enter a valid email address

An email address is required

Please enter your message

Granite Media © 2018 All Rights Reserved

Theme by WPShower

Powered by WordPress