Nameless Queen

Written by Rebecca McLaughlin

Nameless Queen by Rebecca McLaughlin is a story full of adventure. The Main character, known as Coin, is a nameless—looked at as worthless in the view of the royals. To survive, Coin has had to steal her entire life. However, when the king dies and speaks the name of the next heir, the mark of the crown shows up on her. I absolutely loved this book! This book never had a dull moment and always left me wondering what was coming next. The story is full of unexpected twists and constantly leaves the reader on the edge of their seat. I would recommend this to anyone who loves an adventure book without all of the romance. This book has zero romance, but is very heart-felt because it focuses on family. This book is definitely not what I expected going into it, but it came out as a good surprise. Goodreads first paragraph states it is perfect for fans of The Red Queen, but the story is different. Don’t go in thinking it will be another The Red Queen, as it is not. It is its own story and is almost as good. I would not hesitate to recommend it to someone.

Reviewed by Pyper Barlow, Student, Evergreen Junior High
Rating: ★★★★✩ (4 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 7-12

Coin is nameless, a class so low that they aren’t even given official names at birth. When the king dies, he will whisper a name and that person will be marked with the crown tattoo, made the new ruler, and inherit the accompanying magic. It is expected that the King’s daughter will inherit his throne. But, breaking with tradition, she is not named as his successor. Coin has a secret. She has a new crown shaped tattoo. But, how is this possible? She doesn’t even have a name. She knows that they will kill her if she is found with the tattoo. How can a common thief rule a kingdom? Can she survive this curse? The hints of Oliver Twist by Dickens add to the depth of the plot. This intriguing page turner and world will appeal to fans of The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen.

Reviewed by Jessica Moody, LMETS, Olympus Jr. High
Rating: ★★★★★ (5 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 7-12

Author’s Website: https://mcrebecky.wordpress.com/

Nameless Queen
Written by Rebecca McLaughlin
Crown Books for Young Readers
352 pages
Release Date: January 7, 2020
ISBN: 9781524700263
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

Tags:
, , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: