The Burning

Click here to read this ebook in Granite’s Sora

Written by Laura Bates

Due to some digital trauma and bullying, Anna and her mom move to get away from the problems. Anna is doing good and starting to make friends. For a history project, she starts to research women who were accused of witchcraft in the town. Soon, rumors start, and her past begins to emerge. Can you ever escape your past? Can her new friendships outlast the rumors? This magical realism book does a great job of interweaving parallels between the past and the present. Bates also explicitly (and sometimes in detail) deals with issues of rape, sexting, bullying, and mistreatment of women while empowering women. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak and Jay Asher’s 13 Reasons Why will enjoy reading this book.

Reviewed by Jessica Moody, LMETS, Olympus Jr High
Rating: ★★★★½ (4.5 stars)
Interest Level: 10-12

The Burning – Reading Group Guide
Author Website:

The Burning
Written by Laura Bates
Sourcebooks Fire
332 pages
Release Date: April 7, 2020 (USA)
ISBN: 9781728206738
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: