Cici’s Journal

By Joris Chamblain and Aurelie Neyret

Cici is a 10-year-old girl who dreams of becoming an author, just like her mentor and neighbor, Mrs. Flores. She loves to write, read, and observe people, and she imagines that everyone has a secret that makes them unique. She sees herself as a detective who can discover people’s secrets. With the help of her two best friends, Erica and Lena, Cici searches for the key to unlocking two separate mysteries. The book is divided into two parts. Part one, “The Petrified Zoo,” uncovers a mysterious older man who paints murals at a deserted zoo in the woods. Part two, “Hector’s Book,” is about the mystery of a sad, older woman who carries a book back and forth from the library every week. This graphic novel is a wonderful blend of scrapbook pieces, journal entries, hand-drawn doodles, and beautiful illustrations in muted colors. I loved the variety of art mediums throughout the novel and genuinely enjoyed unraveling the two mysteries. Cici also learns some valuable lessons about friendship and family the hard way. Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale will enjoy this graphic novel. Originally published in French in 2013.

Review by Andrea LeBaron, Upland Terrace Media Center
Rating: ★★★★★ (5 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 3-7

Cici’s Journal
By Joris Chamblain and Aurelie Neyret
First Second Books, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press
148 pages
Release Date: November 7, 2017
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , ,

1 thought on “Cici’s Journal”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *